Working (for real) in the empire

And after 26 months sending resumes every single day, writing letters to each company and updating my resume to all the possible key words I think I’m able to deliver (living the eternal Dunning-Kruger effect), I got a message on Indeed from Marty, to a role in Technical Support in an energy start up, just because I speak Spanish. Here we go, finally got a job! In a field I know absolutely nothing about, energy. But if I could learn chemistry, I can learn whatever is needed! I would do anything to get out of driving Uber! Any-thing!

Remember school, science classes, thermodynamics, astronomy, electricity, sure, of course I understand how electricity works. This invisible force of nature that ends with many mysteries and is the future accessed only by the super rich. Started in a small company with 30 guys, and after 10 months, I have learned the product, and can do the job from wherever I am. I’m proud that I can not only talk to the electrician now, since I’ve been learning how electricity works, but also how innovation works, seeing with my eyes every day that innovation really comes before regulation, something I wrote in papers in 2013, and now shows itself in real life.

I work for this small company that wants to dominate the world and free the people from their utility companies. Electric bills, for the rich people, can be astronomical impactful, and Emporia helps to saves money while brings you control, in form of data, in real-time, in the Emporia app.

We have a feature that only Emporia and Tesla have, named Excess Solar, the ability to use solar energy produced and not used to charge electric vehicles! It’s the real future for a Brazilian not-rich girl that ended up in Denver because of bike trails, beer, flowers and the sun! Innovation drives regulation, and here I am, on the phone (I really dislike phones, stop calling Support, use email, chat or SMS, it’s easier for all immigrants to not make you spell your email!) but here I am, in my year number 5 in the States, explaining a person in Vermont how to use the excess solar energy that’s going back to the grid to charge his electric vehicle! Something that in Sao Paulo, hanging out with the elite, I would not be able to access.

It’s a pleasure to see how innovation works, and it’s a daily struggle to be overqualified in lower positions, but as we say in Brazil, that’s what we have for today, ‘Eh o que tem pra hoje!”! Work, learn, be happy. Tomorrow you might find that person that needs someone to do psychedelic researches and or that other that need someone who speaks Portuguese to grab that other 200 million!

From the little I could see in 10 months, and I could not see much, once the start-up has marketing or communications team yet, only agencies, the PR works exactly the same, the reports are exactly the same I used to write, and it’s amazing how you can do so much without the structured we learned was absolutely necessary to get things done. Deep Forest Gump culture.

Americans are the magicians of getting things done, the champions in do it yourself, it’s actually amazing to be able participate in company’s decisions as a support agent and see the company growing so fast and having the recognition from the customers! If there’s a place to learn how to make business, this place is named United States of America! So glad to be able to learn while I pay the bills. Finally, after the long storm, working in a real company in the empire has being a great experience!  Thanks, Kevin. Thanks, Emporia Energy! Check the website and products here: https://shop.emporiaenergy.com/

Author: renatalooop

Ciclista e jornalista

Leave a comment